tbte415

Reflections on pattern of use of technology

Let me start by writing how I use technology until this semester and how or what has changed during this semester.

In the past I very much enjoyed using technology to keep in touch with family and friends and use it as a library of resources for class work. I spend several hours everyday talking to my friends in MSN messanger, writing emails, reading online news papers or blogs. Even though I used technology for learning and created some online content through blogs and wikis, for me technology is good tool for social connectivity with a clear recognition that online resources are a great way to learn new things.

Since the beginning of this semester, I started using technology especially Internet differently. I came to know a number of new as well as familiar tools from our class tools presentations that persuaded me to use these tools. Also I started using some new tools for another class I am taking this semester: Bugeting, Managing and Maintaining Technology in Schools. I started contributing or publishing online more than ever through weekly blogs, wikipedia, wikibook project for class.

In addition , I started learning new tools and ways to use technology for instructional purpose from my internship at Library Technology Services(LTS). It is amazing for me ,at times to listen to, how much technological resources are available for us and how different get influenced to start using technology. Some times its a from a presentation, some times its from a one-to-one demonstration session of the tool/technology , or some other conditions that forced them to use the technology. As for me I get influenced in many different ways. For example I stated using deli.cio.us social bookmarking tool and RSS after listening to our class presentations. Also I try to test and start using any new tools/technology that I feel will be useful for me in the future.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on pattern of use of technology

  1. Ali, I listened to your podcast and I clearly understand what it is all about. That is a very good example of a summarized update a progress report. i also find the project very interesting in that you’re working with colleagues and possibly having a one on one interaction with them. I am not sure however what kind of help you’re expected to give. I am hoping it is not much of a handholding but more of consulting. by any means i am sure you’re enjoying the project. Good job!

  2. Thanks Bolu, You are right , I wasn’t very sure how I will help this class, but I think it will be more like consulting if and when they need help with creating their portfolio website.

Leave a Reply

